How Much Does It Cost to Install an EV Charger at Home? (2026 Real Quotes)
By Vinay S · Updated October 13, 2026
A home Level 2 EV charger costs about $800 to $2,500 in 2026, counting the charger, the electrician and the permit. That range comes from Sunrun’s guide, last updated in February 2026. The price jumps by $1,000 to $4,000 if your electrical panel needs an upgrade, and it climbs with every foot of wire between the panel and the garage wall.
That is a wide range, which is why a homeowner in south Florida asked r/evcharging what a fair price was. He had a 200-amp panel, a spot for a hardwired charger 10 feet from the panel, and two quotes he thought were too high. The thread gives a good picture of what people really pay.
What people paid, from one thread
The owner was quoted $2,099 and $2,650. Here is what other people in the thread reported.
| Who | Where | Job | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electrician | not stated | 10 ft from panel, permit included, owner supplies charger | about $950 |
| Owner | not stated | 50 ft from panel | almost $1,500 |
| Owner | Pennsylvania | Level 2 charger plus install | $1,600 total, install about $1,000 |
| Owner | Georgia | 20 ft run, needed a sub panel | $1,000 |
| Owner | Miami | 75 ft from the box | $1,500 |
| Owner | not stated | 60A hardwired, 100 ft run, permit included | $1,800 |
One owner got four quotes for his 100-foot job. The lowest was $1,650 and the highest was $4,000. That is a spread of almost 2.5 times for the same work. Commenters suggested calling an electrical supply house and asking who they recommend, and one said getting three quotes was how he found his installer. One commenter blamed the high quotes on large companies with big marketing budgets, though that is an opinion.
Two things stand out. Distance drives the price, because most of a long job is wire and labor. And the same job drew very different quotes, so get three.
The published numbers for 2026
Sunrun’s breakdown for a Level 2 install, updated February 24, 2026:
| Line | Cost |
|---|---|
| Charger hardware | $400 to $800 |
| Standard installation labor | $400 to $1,500 |
| Permit and inspection | $50 to $300 |
| Panel upgrade, if needed | $1,000 to $4,000 or more |
| Typical total | $800 to $2,500 |
Add the three standard lines and you get $850 to $2,600, which matches the $800 to $2,500 total. Portlandia Electric Supply’s 2026 buyer’s guide gives a similar picture by job type:
| Job | All-in cost |
|---|---|
| Garage next to a panel with spare capacity | $400 to $800 |
| Long runs, or a 100-amp home using load management | $1,200 to $2,500 |
| Service upgrade needed | $2,500 and up |
Their low end of $400 to $800 probably assumes the owner buys a cheap charger or already has one. Use Sunrun’s range for planning and ask the electrician what is included.
Why quotes swing so much
There are four things that move the price.
- Distance. A short run next to the panel is a few hours. A 100-foot run is more wire, more conduit and possibly drilling through walls or digging. Sunrun notes that long conduit runs and detached garages add cost.
- Panel capacity. This is the biggest swing factor. If the panel has no room for a 50 or 60 amp breaker, the electrician needs to add a sub panel or upgrade the service.
- Charger amperage. The National Electrical Code treats a charger as a continuous load, so the circuit has to be rated at 125% of the charger’s output. A 40-amp charger needs a 50-amp breaker. A 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp breaker. Portlandia’s table also pairs each charger with a wire size: 8 gauge copper for 32 amps, 6 gauge for 40 and 48 amps. Heavier wire costs more.
- The company. A small electrician and a large service company can quote the same job at very different prices, as the thread shows.
Use the Breaker Size Calculator to see what breaker a charger needs. The Wire Size Calculator shows the wire gauge, and the Voltage Drop Calculator helps check a long run, since wire may need to go up a size when the distance grows.
The panel upgrade and load management
This is where a $1,200 job becomes a $4,000 job. Portlandia’s guide gives rough panel guidance:
- 200-amp panel with gas appliances: a 48-amp charger fits with room to spare.
- 200-amp panel with electric heat or cooking: 32 to 40 amps, after a load calculation.
- 100-amp panel with gas: 32 amps usually passes, 48 often fails.
- 100-amp panel with electric appliances: load management only.
Load management is a device that watches the panel and cuts the charging current when the dryer or oven runs. Portlandia lists dedicated relay devices at $800 to $1,500 installed. A service upgrade is $2,500 and up. That is a real saving, but the guide also shows two different savings figures, so ask the electrician to price both options for your house. The NEC recognizes these systems in section 625.42, and the electrician has to do a load calculation first.
Do you need 240V at all?
The US Department of Energy says Level 1 charging uses the cord that comes with the car and a standard outlet, with no added cost if a suitable outlet exists. Level 2 needs 240V equipment and an electrician.
Portlandia’s table shows how quickly different amperages add range:
| Charger output | Breaker | Range added per hour |
|---|---|---|
| 16 amps | 20 amps | about 12 to 14 miles |
| 32 amps | 40 amps | about 25 to 30 miles |
| 48 amps | 60 amps | about 37 to 44 miles |
The Florida owner in the thread drives 40 miles each way, so 80 miles a day. A 16-amp charger adds 12 to 14 miles an hour, so 80 miles takes 80 divided by 14 to 80 divided by 12, or about 5.7 to 6.7 hours. That fits in an overnight window. A 32-amp unit does it in 80 divided by 30 to 80 divided by 25, about 2.7 to 3.2 hours.
One commenter in the thread suggested a 16-amp charger on a 20-amp, 240V circuit, wired like other garage circuits. It is cheaper and enough for that commute. The extra cost of a 60-amp circuit buys speed the owner may never use. Check what your car can accept, because Portlandia notes that many cars cap charging at 32 to 40 amps.
The energy cost is small. At 27 kWh per 100 miles and 10.7 cents per kWh, the DOE’s example, 80 miles uses 21.6 kWh and costs about $2.31. Put in your own rate with the Electricity Cost Calculator.
Permits, rebates and the tax credit
Sunrun puts the permit and inspection at $50 to $300. Many areas require a permit, and a licensed electrician normally pulls it. The thread’s $950 quote included the permit.
The federal credit is gone for new work. The IRS says the section 30C credit was 30% of the cost, up to $1,000 per item for a home charger in an eligible census tract. A law changed the end date to June 30, 2026, and the credit cannot be claimed for property placed in service after that date.
Utility rebates may still help. Portlandia says rebates of $250 to $1,500 per residential install are available in many markets. Check your utility’s website before you sign, because some programs require you to apply before the install.
How to get a fair quote
- Write down your main breaker size, the panel’s open slots and the distance from the panel to the charger spot. Take a photo of the panel with the cover off if you can do it safely, or ask the electrician to do it.
- Decide on the amperage you really need. For a short commute, 32 amps or less is plenty.
- Get three quotes and ask each to separate the charger, the labor, the wire, the permit and any panel work.
- Ask the electrician to price a load management option if the panel is tight.
- Ask about rebates and who files the paperwork.
Compare the quotes against Sunrun’s ranges. A quote near $950 for a simple 10-foot job is in line with the thread. A quote of $2,650 for the same job should come with a reason such as a panel problem.
Sources
- Fair price for my EV install (r/evcharging thread)
- Sunrun: How much does it cost to install an EV charger at home (updated February 2026)
- Portlandia Electric Supply: Level 2 EV Charger Buyer’s Guide 2026
- IRS: Instructions for Form 8911 (12/2025)
- US Department of Energy Alternative Fuels Data Center: Charging at Home
Frequently asked questions
What is a fair price to install a Level 2 EV charger at home in 2026?
Sunrun (updated February 2026) puts the typical total at $800 to $2,500: charger hardware $400 to $800, labor $400 to $1,500, and a permit and inspection of $50 to $300. A short run from a panel with spare capacity sits at the bottom of that range.
How much does a panel upgrade add?
Sunrun lists an electrical panel upgrade at $1,000 to $4,000 or more. Portlandia Electric Supply puts a job that needs a service upgrade at $2,500 and up all-in, compared with $400 to $800 for an install next to a panel with spare room.
Do I need a 240V circuit, or is a regular outlet enough?
A standard 120V outlet (Level 1) adds range slowly and costs nothing to set up if you have a suitable outlet, according to the US Department of Energy. It works for short commutes. A driver covering 80 miles a day needs Level 2.
Is the federal EV charger tax credit still available?
Not for new installs. The IRS says the section 30C credit (30% of cost, up to $1,000 for a home charger in an eligible census tract) cannot be claimed for property placed in service after June 30, 2026. Utility rebates are separate and run roughly $250 to $1,500 per install in many markets.
How do I avoid a panel upgrade?
Choose a lower amperage charger or add a load management device that reduces charging current when other big loads run. Portlandia Electric Supply gives $800 to $1,500 installed for a dedicated relay device, against $2,500 and up for a service upgrade. An electrician has to run a load calculation first.